Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Red Lion Inn


    The Red Lion Inn
 in Stockbridge
    The Red Lion Inn
 in Stockbridge

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1357 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Not our best visit to the Red Lion...

    by Flyer12480005848 on 2020-02-19 11:56 am

    This is our third visit to the Red Lion Inn, and this is the first one that I have to say was a disappointment. Although the rooms in the Inn are old, we realize that is part of the charm and we have always been comfortable, and the rooms have been clean. On this trip, our room (#320) had several noticeable cobwebs on the ceiling. The adjoining door was located behind our headboard, and I was not only able to hear the neighbor's conversations, but I could also clearly hear the voice on the other end of the cell phone that they were speaking into. The bathroom had peeling wallpaper, and (although I love claw foot tubs!) there was no shelf or other area to put the shampoo bottles, soap, or towels so I had to pile them in the sink. The water in the shower kept alternating between freezing cold and scalding. When we turned on the hot water in the sink there was a very loud groaning noise from the pipes that lasted about 20 seconds. There was also mold on the bathroom ceiling. One of the queen beds in our room was incredibly squeaky, so every time my daughter moved we all woke up, and the mattresses were very hard and uncomfortable. In addition, the thermostat in our room did not work. We realized it was warm in there and turned the heat down as low as it could go, but in the middle of the night we needed to open the window because the heat was unbearable!
    To top it off, for convenience sake we charged our drinks (at Widow Bingham's Tavern) to our room. We sat in the lobby by the fire enjoying hot cider drinks. My husband paid our bill upon check out and he did not look closely at the charges (unfortunately!). When I looked at the bill at home I was shocked to see that on the two occasions we got the cider drinks we had been charged $36.55 - each time! $73 for 4 drinks?? I am thinking we got taken by the bartender somehow as the drink menu listed the hard cider drink as being $11. We had tipped him in cash on both of those trips to the bar.
    In the morning we were very disappointed to find that you cannot get a cup of coffee anywhere in the building unless you plan to eat in the dining room. We had to walk down to the Main Street Caf? to get our morning coffee.
    On the flip side, my daughter loved the outdoor pool and she was excited to take a dip in it in February! We love rocking in the chairs in the lobby by the fire, and exploring the hallway treasures and different sitting rooms around the Inn is a lot of fun. The gift shop has interesting and unique finds. We got the Norman Rockwell package ($50 food/drink credit and 2 museum passes) for $169.00, which we considered to be a great deal. However, with the food/drink charges (we ate at the Lion's den and the 3 of us just got pub food), our final bill came to $400 for a less than 24 hour stay. This is mainly due to the (over)charges on the cider drinks.
    We are big fans of Stockbridge and the Red Lion Inn, but this particular trip, unfortunately, was not our favorite.

    Owner Response
    Dear Flyer,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay so thoroughly, especially for identifying the specific room that you stayed in so that we are able to address your issues immediately! Our housekeeping and maintenance departments have been informed and have already taken action to resolve each issue that you listed. As you mentioned, the inn does have it's quirks due to the age of the building, but I do apologize that this visit did not meet your expectations. I would welcome the opportunity to investigate your beverage bill more in depth to ensure you were charged the correct amount. If you would allow, please email me at kylie.hickman@redlioninn.com so I can gather a few more details from you. I would also like to apologize for your disappointment in our coffee service. We offer an early risers coffee bar in the morning from 6-8am daily. We also provide coffee makers for all of the guest rooms in our village houses. If a guest requests coffee after the designated hours, we do our best to accommodate that request and I'm sorry if that was not the case during your stay.

    I certainly hope this visit won't keep you from returning. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

    Warm Regards,

    Kylie Hickman
    Assistant Hotel Manager

    Kylie Hickman, Guest Services / Front Office at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

  • Valentines Day

    by alanb379 on 2020-02-17 04:43 am

    This was our third visit and everything was just as perfect as the two previous visits. We had a beautiful room, excellent service all thru the inn and the food was top notch. It is a great place stay and start your adventure from.

    Owner Response
    Dear alanb379,

    We are so delighted that you came back a third time and continue to enjoy your visits at the Red Lion Inn. Thank you so much for the kind words about your food and the service you received while you were here. I am so glad you had such a memorable Valentines Day!

    We look forward to welcoming you back again!

    Warm Regards,

    Kylie Hickman
    Assistant Hotel Manager

    Kylie Hickman, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

  • Old, historic, and it shows

    by YankeeLawyer on 2020-02-16 04:11 pm

    It is very old. The building is indeed old and needs a great deal of updating. Unless old and historic is your thing and you like creaky floors. paper thin walls and an uncomfortable bed. Very tired in general. It is a very noisy building. It was on our bucket list for years. We can check it off and not return. Oh, and no safe.

    Owner Response
    Dear YankeeLawyer,

    I am sorry to hear that your visit with us did not meet your expectations! The preservation of such a historic buildig is a huge responsiblity. I assure you, our dedicated team, is focused on the care and upkeep of this treasured landmark. That being said, I am disappointed to hear that you will not be returning. We do have a large restoration project planned for the main lobby, that I do hope you will come check out upon its completion. You are correct that we do not have safes in our guests rooms, however, we do offer to hold valuables in a safety deposit box at the front desk as an alternative option.

    Warm regards,

    Kylie Hickman
    Assistant Hotel Manager

    Kylie Hickman, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

  • Lovely place friendly staff

    by Siki1036 on 2020-02-05 07:26 am

    Lovely setting amazing Heineken and the girls nikki and Niamh are so friendly and accommodating not a local but was made to feel like one straight away! Food was amazing and the clientele are all very friendly and creative a lovely atmosphere

    Owner Response
    Dear Siki1036,

    Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent experience. It is lovely to here that you felt right at home during your visit!

    Warm Regards,

    Kylie Hickman
    Assistant Hotel Manager

    Kylieehickman, Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

  • Special Place

    by Laura R on 2020-02-03 02:20 pm

    Spent a night recently as an anniversary surprise. We stayed here 40 years ago on our way home from a week of skiing. This visit was just as nice. The hotel staff is very pleasant and welcoming. This visit we were surprised with an upgrade to a suite on the third floor. I have read reviews that are not positive but I must say, we had plenty of hot water, the bed was comfy, the room was clean. The wall coverings and furnishings are a throwback to another style and time but that is why one stays here. We ate in the Lion's Den while watching the Superbowl and it certainly met my expectations.

    Owner Response
    Dear Laura R,

    First of all, happy anniversary! We are delighted you found your way back to the Red Lion Inn after forty years for such a special occasion! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything while you were here and that your expectations were met. We certainly hope it won't be another 40 years before we welcome you back again!

    Best Wishes,

    Kylie Hickman
    Assistant Hotel Manager

    Kylieehickman, Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.