Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Red Lion Inn


    The Red Lion Inn
 in Stockbridge
    The Red Lion Inn
 in Stockbridge

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1251 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • It's a dream!

    by jane J on 2019-03-19 11:24 am

    There is no place better, and no better lobby cat than Norman, except maybe Simon back in the day. The hot tub and pool, in the wintertime, just relaxing and fun, both. Wallpaper, charming. Other guests, friendly. It just feels better to be there than just about anywhere else I know.

  • Dog Friendly NOT as People Friendly

    by KdQuilter on 2019-03-16 09:53 am

    We stayed at the Red Lion Inn over the July 4th holiday to attend James Taylor at Tanglewood. While we had stayed at the Red Lion Inn a few years back we chose it again because the Stevens House on property is dog friendly. When we arrived the room had many dog amenities - crate, bowls, towel - which was great.

    Because the Stevens House is a block from the main hotel we took a walkover to the gift shop, where we purchased the book The Tanglewood Picnic which features the Red Lion Inn brownies. Wanting to bring these to the James Taylor concert we called room service and spoke with Annie who informed us the brownies were no longer on the menu, however she spoke to the chef and he agreed to make and have them delivered to our room before we left the next day at 3pm for the show. At 2pm the day of the brownies had still not been delivered so I called and again spoke with Annie, she told me they were made and would be sent over shortly. However at 3pm they still not arrived so I called back, Annie had left for the day and no one knew about my order!

    On July 4th my mother drove up form CT to meet us for drinks of the front porch. While we were able to get seats there was no one available for service. So I went into the bar to order. There was only one bartender on and she refused to take customer orders, prioritizing the restaurant waitstaffs orders. After waiting over 15 min I finally placed my order and when I went to pay my credit card kept giving an error, the bartender blamed my card only a minute later be informed that the credit card system went down.

    When we went to checkout I was prepared to share these horrible experiences with the front desk however they never asked how anything was and made it clear they didn't really care either.

    Owner Response
    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your stay with us during the 4th of July Holiday. I apologize for the unusual lapses in service that you experienced during your visit. Annie is a wonderful member of our staff and I am glad to know that she spoke to our chef about making you the brownies, however, it is very disappointing to learn that we failed to follow thru on our promise of providing them to you. I will review the bartender schedule for the 4th of July and follow up with the team member who failed to provide the service that The Red Lion Inn is famous for. I assure that we truly do care about all our guests and I again apologize that we failed to demonstrate this to you during this visit. I would welcome the opportunity to have a telephone conversation with you concerning your stay in the hopes of regaining your faith in our commitment to exceeding our guest's expectations.

    Sincerely,
    Robert Mickey
    General Manager

    robertm12190, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

  • Wonderful Weekend Away

    by BeccaScano on 2019-03-06 04:42 pm

    I came here with my boyfriend for a weekend getaway, and we had a really enjoyable stay. Our room was warm, clean, and very cozy. We ate at the Inn for most of our stay, and the food can range from really good to just okay, but the atmosphere was always very nice and inviting. We didn't stay long enough to get the full experience, but it was a lovely stay nonetheless.

    I almost gave this a modest 4 stars. However, everyone at the Inn was incredibly kind and helpful. From the desk staff to the staff in the restaurants, they made the trip that much better. If anyone from the Inn happens to read this review, thank you, and please pass along my compliments and thanks to everyone who works there.

  • Anniversary Weekend Away

    by mamasqueenge on 2019-02-11 09:59 am

    We had a fantastic time here. It's like staying in a museum! The hotel is big and warm and welcoming. It's old, with antiques everywhere and lots of nooks and crannies. The restaurant and the food were great, the bedroom was cozy and comfortable. The tavern was nice and we loved the Lions Den. There was a great jazz band there the night we went. The breakfast was very good and then we did a self tour of the hotel, there was so much to see. The main entrance is like a meeting area, with a nice fireplace and people have a beer or a wine and Norman the cat. (Norman is the resident kitty, cute and nice, just don't annoy him) The front staff was very nice and even left us a bottle of wine in our room for our Anniversary! We will definitely be back. Also, make sure you go to the Norman Rockwell Museum while you are there, it's incredible! PS John Wayne along with Presidents and other stars stayed here, what's not to love!

    Owner Response
    Thank you for visiting and thank you for the wonderful review! Happy Anniversary!

    MorganR1284, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

  • Wanted to love it

    by GlacierChick on 2019-02-07 12:12 am

    I'm from less than an hour away from here and have been by the Inn and inside the lobby many times. It's a beautiful and historic place. Our room, however, was not.

    The linens were nice but the bed was like a hammock. The pictures were dusty and there were cobwebs in the bathroom. There was an old clawfoot tub but it made for a very small shower and there's nowhere to even put a bar of soap...we used the top of the toilet. Hot water takes a looong time to get to the third floor, so be patient. The 1940's era sink is in the main room rather than the bathroom. Some rooms have shared bathrooms and we actually paid more to have ours within our room.

    All of the staff we encountered were great, including Norman, the resident cat, but I wouldn't stay here again.

    We've stayed at several old historic inns but this place is not worth the price. Too shabby. You can enjoy historic charm and still have modern amenities and renovated accomodations. The RLI is just old.

    Owner Response
    I'm sorry the Inn did not live up to your expectations, and I appreciate the valuable feedback. I'm glad you found the staff to be great and I hope maybe you will give us another shot in the future. Please reach out to me directly if there is anything I can do, or if you have additional feedback. Thank you.

    Morgan Russell
    Guest Relations Manager
    (413) 298-1611

    MorganR1284, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.