Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

    The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort
 in Honolulu
    The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort
 in Honolulu


TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
4572 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Fantastic stay!

    by keithkixk on 2019-08-18 01:44 pm

    I've been staying at the Royal Hawaiian for over a decade and can't say enough great things about this property from location to staff and beyond.

    On this stay, the front office manager, Lenn Yonemura, took great care of my accommodations as an elite Bonvoy member despite the hotel being at capacity. The entire staff was warm and welcoming as usual.

    I look forward to returning to this superb property.

  • Donât be fooled by Club Rooms & Lounge

    by EJLG2019 on 2019-08-17 07:16 pm

    I think it is really important for people to know all the relevant information before making hotel choices. I was super excited to find a Marriott propertyThe Royal Hawaiian had a club lounge and jumped at booking a room after reading generally positive comments about the hotel. I wish previous travellers had been a bit more descriptive. It helps travellers to make the write choices,
    Allow me to set the record straight for travellers who enjoy a refined, comfortable and selective hotel environment. The Club option at The Royal Hawaiian is NOT for you. The breakfast is a complete disgrace and worthy of a zero grading. Just take time out and look at the photographs attached. That is the breakfast choice. Positioned on a sideboard not longer than four metres with the poorest quality products you can imagine. Due to the large number of people, offered dishes often remained empty for long periods of time while attendant stand chatting. Not to mention the over crowdedness and long line. The lounge is full of kids running around to grab the best seats and food dishes first. If you are unable to make out the food choice from the photograph, l have listed them below;
    Toast with cheese
    Fried potatoes
    Yogurt(two flavours)
    Fresh fruit(orange or apple)
    The above is not a luxury collection hotel typical continental breakfast choice. You would find much more and better at a Residence Inn.
    Of course, if you go over the hotel website it presents its Club option as more luxurious comfort and service choice compared to traditional rooms. That is NOT the case. Think again Hotel Club Lounge lovers. I regret making this choice! Note that making a complaint works out rather difficult since there isn't a Club lounge manager.That really tells you how serious the hotel considers its Club.
    I nearly forgot...
    take into consideration that if you are interested in relaxing on a hotel beach sunbed, make sure you budget for the $41 a day charge plus your $30 resort fee which strangely does not include sun-bed use. The hotel pool is super small, but guests can use the super busy Sheraton pool areas where there is a common practice of reserving pool beds with bags and towels super early.

    Hope you found the information useful!

  • Nice building - Shame about the staff

    by gbjmkeijzers on 2019-08-16 01:23 pm

    The hotel is in a great spot with a lot of history. It is definitely worth a visit.
    Unfortunately- the staff don't care. And do even pretend to care.
    We requested an early check in months before as we had an overnight flight. When checking-in at 1pm the host was rude. It is 3pm for everyone (rather than: go have some lunch and we will notify you when the room is ready).
    The safe was not working, and after mentioning to both porterage staff and reception desk, nobody came to assess the safe.
    When trying to rent a surfboard at 4pm we were told that the last rentals are at 3.45. So we said we would be happy to pay for 1 hr and bring it back in 45 min. The answer was: 'no we can't do that because those are the rules'. Really? For 600USD/night hotel there is no flexibility for such minor things?
    When bringing this all to the attention of the junior duty manager (Romeo), he wrote all this down and that people would be in contact (phone number given).
    Needless to say: nobody came to sort the safe, no apologies were offered, and nobody called.

    The hotel must have so much demand from tourists that they can afford such poor service and poor communication.

    I suggest you stay somewhere else and just visit the premises

    Owner Response
    Aloha gbjmkeijzers,

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We appreciate your candid feedback, and truly apologize for the underwhelming level of service you received during your stay with us. We understand how disappointing this must have been, and wish the interactions that you had with our team were more positive. We apologize about the surf board rental not being flexible. We will be sure that we follow up with the team to see if any changes can be made in this situation and if not, we will be sure that the reasoning is communicated properly so that our guests clearly understand these rules as well.

    Your comments are very valuable to us, and we will make it a priority to fix the service issues that you noted. If you do have the opportunity to stay with us in the future, we hope that you will have a much more different experience.

    Ayaka Hong
    Online Marketing Manager
    The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

    MarriottWaikiki2, Guest Experience Team at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this review

  • Amazing Stay

    by ttteeebbbeee77 on 2019-08-13 06:56 pm

    Loved every moment of our stay and will definitely return with the family. Staff were very accommodating. Loved the pool and the rooms were beautiful. Beds were comfortable. Especially loved the pink beer!

  • Not a luxury hotel

    by StephenM951 on 2019-08-13 04:25 pm

    The good - great spot (beach and shopping), and an interesting historic building. Our junior suite had a wonderful view of Waiki beach. Two other rooms that we had for kids were ok. All have embarrassingly small, motel style bathrooms.

    The bad - double charged for my rooms (and no easy way to contact the hotel - no email of my folio on checkout), terribly crowded beach (I had to spend 10 minutes arguing with the beach staff to begrudgingly be allocated a beach chair), ridiculous "resort fee" which comes with essentially nothing - still have to pay for beach chairs, no turn down service, even for suites (appalling), long waits everywhere (including the single wash down shower that people need to use to get sand off before reentering the hotel).

    If this was half the price and advertised itself as four star, it would be ok. If you are expecting something approaching an average 5 star, you are in for a shock. Thank goodness we spent most of our time at the FS in Maui.

    Owner Response
    Aloha StephenM951,

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are delighted to hear that the location and historic features of our resort were to your liking. However, we regret to read that there were a number of areas that were disappointments during your stay with us, including the error in your room being double charged, concerns regarding the daily resort charge, and issues with lines being too long.

    We understand how disappointing this must have been during what should have been a relaxing stay for you, and although there are certain areas that we are unable to make significant adjustments to, like the daily resort charge, we will certainly work to make improvements in areas that we can make changes to immediately, including adding a contact information in folios in case guests have any issues, as well as follow up with our beach staff regarding the level of service you received.

    Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We hope that if you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future, that you will have a much more positive stay.

    Ayaka H.
    The Royal Hawaiian, Guest Experience Team

    MarriottWaikiki2, Guest Experience Team at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this review

Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee

It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.