Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Willard InterContinental, Washington DC


    The Willard InterContinental, Washington DC
 in Washington
    The Willard InterContinental, Washington DC
 in Washington

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
4221 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Beautiful Hotel and First Class Service

    by NorthEast33 on 2019-04-19 06:45 pm

    We could not have been happier with our stay at the Willard InterContinental. The hotel is beautiful, historic and immaculate. The service was amazing, hospitality at its finest. The rooms are large and comfortable. The location is great, a short walk to the White House, National Mall and many restaurants. We can't wait to come back.

  • I have no title for this review- silly to have this.

    by Travel52752426108 on 2019-04-19 03:59 am

    The property, where i have stayed regularly for many, many years, is looking a bit shopworn. The lobby could use a face lift. There is not enough staff in the Robin's Nest Bar. What really prompted my reply previously, however, was the charge for internet service and the need to buy an entire day on the day of checkout. It was cheap and second rate. At a hotel of the quality of the Willard, high speed internet should be completely complimentary.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for taking time to share feedback on your recent stay at the Willard InterContinental. We never wish for our guests to leave our property dissatisfied with any part of their stay, thus we're disappointed to learn you did. Please know, should you be an IHG Rewards Club member (a complimentary program to be a part of), use of the hotel's WiFi is complimentary.

    In our effort to ensure that the guest experience is nothing short of perfect, feedback such as yours is critical, so we greatly appreciate you sharing your thoughts. We will review further with our team. Should you have any additional feedback on your visit, I welcome the opportunity to discuss. Thank you again for your review. Should your travels bring you back to the Willard InterContinental, please let me know personally so I can ensure we have an opportunity to make amends for your recent experience.

    Regards,

    Simon Chapman
    Hotel Manager
    Simon.Chapman@ihg.com

    Simon C, Hotel Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review

  • A beautiful hotel with a staff that matches the status of the facility

    by Sightseer53823299087 on 2019-04-19 02:44 am

    A great place to stay. The only two issues were with that it seems to be somewhat of a a "tourist destination" with detracts from the "gravitas" of the hotel and there is a very thick, soft top of the mattresses that retains heat. No matter how low we got the room temperature, the bed was overly warm. We stay in a lot of hotels and this was an unusual occurrence. Overall it was absolutely wonderful and priced reasonably for what we received. Parc du Cafe restaurant is Outstanding!

    Owner Response
    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at the Willard InterContinental. While we're pleased to learn your stay at our historic property was wonderful overall, we are disappointed to learn we fell short on delivering quality sleep experience. Should we have know of the shortcoming you were experiencing, our staff would have worked to rectify the situation to ensure you had a more comfortable sleep. We do apologize and thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please know I have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping for review. Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you again to the Willard InterContinental in the not so distant future.

    Regards,

    Simon Chapman
    Hotel Manager

    Simon C, Hotel Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review

  • Needs a little polishing

    by YolandeL191 on 2019-04-18 12:32 am

    Overall a good hotel and we had a fantastic suite with views of the White House. Reception and Concierge were good and the Round Robin bar was excellent. My main issue was with breakfast, we had to queue to get a table and when we got up to breakfast area, there were plenty of empty tables. The buffet often ran out of staples like butter and bread. One morning, we gave our room number to the greeter as there was an apparent wait for a table, he told us to sit down and then called up people who arrived later than us to a table. When challenged, he said he couldn't find us but he had pointed out a table for us to wait at. This is standard of service is disappointing for a 5 star hotel. Also the restrooms down the Peacock corridor are shabby and need a refurb.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at the Willard InterContinental. While we're pleased to hear you found your suite to be fantastic, the Round Robin Bar to be excellent and the reception and concierge to be good, we are disappointed and deeply concerned to learn of your experience at Cafe du Parc. Such service is not acceptable, and is not the experience we wish to provide to our guests. Please know I have addressed this with the restaurant director as well as the head of food and beverage to ensure such a situation does not reoccur. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Should your travels bring you back to the Willard InterContinental, please let me know personally so I can ensure we have the opportunity to make amends for your recent experience.

    Regards,

    Simon Chapman
    Hotel Manager
    Simon.Chapman@ihg.com

    Simon C, Hotel Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review

  • A piece of history - an honour to stay here

    by siggouk on 2019-04-17 06:57 am

    We had no idea of the historical relevance of this hotel when we booked it online, we just thought it looked nice and in a great location. Both those points are true but what sets this place apart is the iconic lobby area, where Martin Luther King put the finishing touches to his 'I have a dream' speech and where the term Lobbyist was coined after president Ullyses would pop into the hotel lobby to have a cigar and a nightcap and people would approach him there to discuss various issues of the day. Add to that the Robin Round Bar, which again has huge history and you feel very honoured to stay there. The rooms are very comfortable and have a large bathroom and foyer area - it was the perfect place for a family of four with two large teenagers to stay.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for the 5-star review. We're happy to learn you and your family had an enjoyable stay at our historic property. Known as one of the most historic hotels in America, The Willard first opened its doors in 1818 as a two-story rowhouse. As the city of Washington evolved, so too did the Willard. We now offer 335 rooms, including 41 suites. If only the walls could talk, the stories this property would tell! Should your travels bring you back to the Willard, we invite you to visit the hotel's history gallery which does a fantastic job chronicling the hotel's 200 year legacy. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

    Regards,

    Simon Chapman
    Hotel Manager

    Simon C, Hotel Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.