Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Water's Edge Resort and Spa


    Water's Edge Resort and Spa
 in Westbrook

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
880 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Great views

    by nancysC9264PX on 2019-06-26 10:37 am

    Pretty, great views & great service. The beach staff was not only friendly but helpful. Nice group of young staff!!!
    Happy hour had several choices. The band on Friday played popular music. Parking was a bit tight but not awful.

  • Friend's Getaway

    by Voyager10829500625 on 2019-06-25 07:23 pm

    This was our second time staying at Water's Edge Resort & Spa. (First time was 2 years ago) We reserved an ocean view room 4 months in advance. The room was a generous size. Our ocean view was through some trees and above the building in front of us - not what I expected. If you want breakfast on a Sunday, it costs $40 for the brunch buffet.
    All staff are friendly and helpful. We found out the hard way that housekeeping does not come back to clean your room if you're not up when they come through your hallway -( the ONE day I didn't get up until 9:15). We had a pile of used bath towels, and we stopped at the front desk to ask for housekeeping to bring clean ones.
    The resort has a lot to offer, and I would stay here again if in the area. The band that played on Sunday night was very good. They had everyone up dancing right from the start.

  • Great vacation second time around

    by trekgirl3 on 2019-06-25 02:20 pm

    I had gone a couple of years ago in June with my husband to this wonderful place so we thought we would come again for our 15th wedding anniversary.
    We were not disappointed.
    We stayed in a very spacious newly renovated room with a balcony.
    My only complaint was that the toilet seat was too low, more for a child and the balcony needed some updating.
    The seats and small table clearly had salt erosion from the Long Island sound so it was not welcoming to sit outside.
    We did not have such great weather, lots of rain.
    This did not stop us from visiting various towns like, Essex, Old Saybrook and Madison.
    The staff was always pleasant and attentive and we ate a lot in the restaurants.
    The last day we were there, towards the evening the sun came out and we ate outdoors listening to a live band.

  • Excellent location for work outing

    by dooner781997 on 2019-06-12 10:59 am

    Spent 3 days in early June here for a work trip. Everything (meeting facilities/service, hotel rooms, ambiance, grounds) was top notch. Staff was helpful and cheerful with every interaction. Pool right next to the ocean was a nice touch, and service there was great as well!

    Owner Response
    We are so happy that you were able to enjoy the resort amenities during your business trip. We hope to see you again.

    Stephen J, Manager at Water's Edge Resort & Spa, responded to this review

  • AVOID: poor quality and extremely over-priced

    by Clea17 on 2019-06-08 02:30 pm

    I spent one night at this hotel while attending a local family event. Hotel options are limited in this part of Connecticut, but NEVER AGAIN.

    We paid over $500 with tax for our room, yet found it lacked basic hotel amenities like robes and serviceable pillows (we had the thinnest, most threadbare pillows I have encountered in a hotel, they must have been super-old!)

    Furthermore, there was a loud band with thumping bass that played until midnight. We were not advised that there would be a large party going on in the hotel during our stay at booking, or at check-in. I understand that hotels double as venues, but the volume and bass were absolutely excessive and we should have been warned by the hotel and offered earplugs, a noise machine, or other remedy. We found it impossible to sleep until after the band finished at midnight.

    Our room did have a nice view of the ocean, but it was not worth $500+. Bathroom was small with old fixtures and bedroom decor was also dated and chintzy. Food was fine but nothing to write home about, and both our room service orders had missing items. In the case of the second order, we requested the missing item be brought to our room and it never arrived so we just checked out and left.

    I'm not giving this hotel one star because the property isn't dirty or unsafe, but it's definitely not somewhere you should stay if you have another option. Saybrook Point (in nearby Old Saybrook) isn't perfect either but at least it's better than Waters Edge.

    Owner Response
    We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that the music from an event disrupted your sleep. We will be sharing your comments about your guestroom with our management team so that they can review your concerns when planning future improvements. As well as sharing your comments about your room service order with our Food & Beverage Team so that they can correct the issues you experienced. We are sorry that you did not have the enjoyable stay you had planned and hope that you will stay with us again so that you can have better experience with us.

    Stephen J, Manager at Water's Edge Resort & Spa, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.