Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Palace Hotel


    Palace Hotel
 in San Francisco
    Palace Hotel
 in San Francisco

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
1911 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Great location everything walkable

    by 827martinob on 2019-07-21 06:22 pm

    We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed the sights of San Fransisco the hotel is very imposing stunning hall and eating area .
    There is an indoor pool and here is where I didn't give it 5 stars as it was cold every night so not pleasant to get into , resorted to use the jacuzzi .
    A lot of people complained while in the pool area but i made sure reported it to reception .
    The gym is brilliant the place overall stunning concierge are brilliant

  • Excellent Service

    by S H on 2019-07-21 10:37 am

    Edwin & Jacinto in the Garden Court Lounge supplied the most excellent service and Ramos Fizz cocktails. Lean back,relax and be amazed by the by the original glass ceiling and crystal chandeliers. What a wonderful way to start the day in San Francisco.

  • Magnificent Stay

    by 27srinathk on 2019-07-21 09:53 am

    def recommend if you're visiting the city. close to union square and other downtown attractions. very rich and like it says.. its the Palace!

    we had a suite overlooking the market St. service was exceptional. Of course, liked the hospitality, shoe shine, extra amenities.

    only downside of our experience was that, after checkin, we reached our room to find out the key wasn't activated to unlock our room, so we had to walk all the way to elevators and go back to check in and to hear another agent tell us.. we're not checkin earlier .. so I had to show them and ask, how could I get the room number written on my key envelope and had a key.. after few mins.. the agent re-issued the keys.. without even proper acknowledgement or being sorry for the mess. not the way to get treated the moment we arrived at hotel.

    Parking was also another help.. the parking has a $25 unlimited in/out privileges, and just right across the hotel. Thankful for the parking staff, we forgot some medicines and they escorted us to our car and escorted back.

    overall, except the above check-in experience, everything was well. hotel itself had a marvelous lobby, magnificent decoration truly worth spending having a tea and exploring the interiors.

  • Grand, historic hotel

    by rachelrH4697WK on 2019-07-17 07:04 pm

    The Palace is a beautiful, grand, historic property. It was a thrill to walk into the marble entryway and then see the garden court with its marble and gilt columns and crystal chandeliers. I stayed there for three nights for work in July (Sun - Wed) and very much enjoyed my stay, though there were a few kinks.
    * Room: My standard room was very comfortable with a dreamy king bed, luxury toiletries, high ceilings and lots of light. Beddings, robes, slippers, towels were all high-quality. Wifi worked fine. I was on the 4th floor (room 468) which is the same floor as the gym/pool -- as a result, I could hear a lot of people walking and talking in the hall on the way to/from the pool. Luckily the noise quieted down after 10 PM when the pool closed, and the rest of the night was very quiet. View was of the interior courtyard and the roofs of some nice downtown buildings. It got lots of light.
    * Service: Very friendly and courteous at check-in and at breakfast. It wasn't flawless, though: At check-in, the hotel associate didn't say that my room rate included breakfast or include information about restaurant hours. When I went down later to check about breakfast, the line was about 15 people deep, and I didn't feel like waiting. The next evening, more than 24 hrs after I checked in, there was a letter in my room welcoming me to the hotel and telling me about my special room package, but that should have been there when I had arrived, rather than a day later. Those are small things, and didn't detract too much from my experience, but they are the kind of kinks that a true 5 star hotel should work through. Reception was clearly overwhelmed by guests checking in on Sunday afternoon July 14.
    * Breakfast: It was lovely to eat under the grand courtyard. Food selection was tasty and service was friendly. Coffee in the free coffee area wasn't great, but it was free :)
    * Gym/pool. I was so excited about the pool and hot tub. Unfortunately, when I got there on Sunday evening, both were packed with families. The hot tub is very small and it was jam-packed so I didn't even bother trying. Wasn't the relaxing scene I had hoped. The next evening it was calmer, but I do wish the hot tub were a little bigger to accommodate the size of the hotel.
    Overall, I enjoyed the luxurious, grand feeling of the hotel and staying there made my work trip more fun.

    Owner Response
    Dear rachelrH4697WK,

    Thank you for sharing about your stay at the Palace Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel. We appreciate the flattering remarks and are glad you enjoyed our hotel, a true San Francisco icon since 1875. We understand the importance of the details that make up a great stay and are happy knowing our well-appointed rooms, delicious breakfast, thoughtful amenities as well as the exceptional staff enhanced your visit with us. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

    Sincerely,
    Kevin Boland
    Director of Sales and Marketing

    TeamMarriott, Manager at Palace Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Francisco, responded to this review

  • Three nights on a family trip

    by AmirHY on 2019-07-15 09:36 pm

    This hotel has a great appearance, both in the public areas, as you enter the hotel, as well as in the room. Service in the hotel was spot on, either at the reception, concierge or even the lady who makes sure the fitness center is organized (she handed me a bottle of cold water on each day I trained there). The fitness center and pool are also more than fine. I can't help but state minor things I noticed like we could hear too well the family with loud kids that stayed in the room next to us, there was a strange sound when another room adjacent to us used their bathroom water and above all was the poor WiFi signal in our room. Once again, the hotel is great, just need a few things to fix.

    Owner Response
    Dear AmirHY,

    We are happy you had an overall excellent stay at Palace Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel. It is always our goal to deliver a great experience, and we are pleased to know how much you liked our beautiful property, thoughtful amenities, and excellent service. However, we wish we had the opportunity to address the noise issues you encountered while you were here, as we would have been happy to take care of you better. Thank you again, and we hope to make your next visit to our hotel perfect in every respect.

    Sincerely,
    Kevin Boland
    Director of Sales and Marketing

    TeamMarriott, Manager at Palace Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Francisco, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.