Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Broadmoor

    The Broadmoor
 in Colorado Springs


In 1880, tuberculosis patient Willie Wilcox came west, seeking his fortune and hoping to find a cure for his illness. He bought the land at the base of Cheyenne Mountain and established a small dairy farm, but his inexperience with animals became his undoing. Wilcox formed a partnership with Prussian Count named James Pourtales who had also come west to seek romance and fortune.

Pourtales had grand designs and decided the only way to make a truly decent profit was to create an upper-class suburb of Colorado Springs with numerous amenities. Thus was born The Broadmoor Land and Investment Company in 1890. To entice buyers, Pourtales built the Broadmoor Casino, followed soon after by a small hotel. Financial problems forced the Count into receivership and the hotel and casino were turned into a boarding house and day school for girls.

On May 9, 1916, Spencer Penrose, a Philadelphia entrepreneur who had made his fortune in mining, purchased the casino, hotel, and an adjoining 400 acres. His dream was to turn the Pikes Peak region into the most interesting, multi-faceted resort area that could be imagined. The New York firm of Warren and Wetmore designed the structure and construction began on May 20, 1917. Skilled artisans were brought from Europe to create The Broadmoor's elaborate moldings, embellishments and paintings. An 18-hole golf course was designed by master golf-course architect, Donald Ross.


Founded by Spencer and Julie Penrose, The BROADMOOR resort opened June in 1918 with three buildings, 350 rooms, and a golf course designed by Donald Ross.

1988: Oklahoma Publishing Company purchases controlling interest of The BROADMOOR from El Pomar Foundation.

2004: Oklahoma Publishing Company purchases the remaining interest to become a sole proprietorship.

2011: Anschutz Corporation of Denver purchases all businesses of Oklahoma Publishing, including The BROADMOOR. Mr. Philip Anschutz becomes only the third owner in the resort’s history.

1994: The BROADMOOR adds new Golf, Spa and Tennis facility and Rocky Mountain Ballroom.

1995: West Tower replaces former BROADMOOR World Arena skating facility, which moves 3 miles east and is now the Colorado Springs World Arena and Ice Hall.

1996: Walking bridge spanning the lake and connecting the east and west sides of the BROADMOOR complex is added.

2000: The BROADMOOR West building, including Charles Court restaurant, is renovated and remodeled.

2001: A new water complex is added to the north end of Cheyenne Lake including a zero-entry infinity swimming pool, mountain-like water slides, two 14-person hot tubs, private cabanas and a seasonal pool café. The new 21-room Lakeside Suites building is completed on the site of the old Main pool. Most suites have gas fireplaces and unobstructed views of the lake and mountains.

2002: BROADMOOR Main Building opens after a total restoration and renovation. Original artwork is restored on ceilings and walls; two guest elevators are added; rooms are redesigned with five-fixture baths and a host of state-of-the-art services and amenities. Former Mountain Course club building reopens as Cheyenne Lodge with spectacular vistas for private functions.

2004: The Spa at The BROADMOOR is expanded to 43,000 sq ft. with the addition of 10 new treatment rooms, two exclusive water treatments, the Serenity Shower and the Tranquility Tub, and a total redesign of the existing space, all created by master architect TAG Galyean.

2005: The East Golf Course is returned to the original 1918 bunker design of legendary course designer Donald Ross. In May of 2005, the Golf Club Dining Room (formerly called Stratta’s) reopened, adding a wonderful new outdoor dining experience for guests and club members focusing on casual dining in a family-oriented atmosphere. Window walls open onto an expanded awning-covered patio, complete with an exterior fire pit perfect for roasting marshmallows or making S’mores. BROADMOOR Hall opened in October 2005, adding a 60,000 sq. ft. pillar-less and fully carpeted ballroom capable of holding up to 6,550 people theater-style. Underground parking is added to the Hall, holding 950 vehicles. BROADMOOR Brownstones, 19 private residences, open in October, across from the Golf Club.

2006: Summit, the Adam D. Tihany designed restaurant, opens to rave reviews. The first freestanding facility at The BROADMOOR, Summit is headed by Executive Chef Bertrand Bouquin. BROADMOOR West Residences, located along the second fairway of the West Course, open in the spring. These 33 units are privately owned and feature many hotel amenities as part of the purchase. Nicklaus Design unveils the newly redesigned and reconfigured Mountain Course in July 2006; renovation of BROADMOOR South Tower and Penrose Room is completed in May. Features include all new rooms, many with balconies and “Juliet” balconies, flat screen TVs, and state-of-the-art control panels for everything from lights to curtains. Eight additional retail shops open in May, bringing the total of specialty stores and boutiques to 25.

2008: Construction of The BROADMOOR Cottages begins in August. Situated along the 18th fairway of the East Golf Course, five 8-bedroom and one 4-bedroom cottages are planned. Three year winter restoration of West Golf Course begins including returning the course features to their origins.

2009: Broadmoor Cottages open May 8. The Cottages bring the total accommodation space to 744 units, including 107 suites and 44 cottage bedrooms.

2010: West Tower rooms and suites receive new carpet, curtains, bedding, and televisions. West meeting rooms are completely redone to more closely match the look and feel of other meeting space. West Lobby Bar has been remodeled to include a scenic outdoor patio and a bar dining menu is available.

2011: Southeastmoor and Northeastmoor Renovations:

  • New exterior entrances with peaked ceilings, chandeliers, new entry vestibule, millwork and artwork.
  • Public areas - addition of new lighting, carpet wall covering, millwork and furnishings
  • Guestrooms received new tiled bar area, carpet, wall covering, painting, plumbing fixtures, artwork, all new furnishings, drapes, addition of TV's to the bathrooms
  • Bath / Shower grab bars and spa showers


  • Merge of Balliet’s and The Ladies’ Boutique
  • The Broadmoor Children’s Shop July 1, 2011
  • The Christmas Shop. Open October to January.


  • Museum quality replicas of Western art masters added throughout the resort, including Broadmoor Main, Broadmoor West, Charles Court and South Tower.
  • Original Southlake building, constructed in 1918, is renovated to include balconies, new entryways and foyers, lighting, carpet and furnishings. Opened in April, 2012.
  • Refurbishing of Pauline Chapel. Originally constructed in 1919 as a “rest” chapel for guests of the Broadmoor Hotel by Julie Penrose, Pauline has come full circle and is once again part of the resort with non-denominational services at 10 a.m. each Sunday.
  • All bunkers on the East and West golf courses restored to the original Donald Ross design. Open June 1, 2012.
  • New exterior to Cheyenne Lodge meeting and event facility with a split log and chinking exterior, timbers, stonework and landscaping. Completed in April, 2012.
  • The Golden Bee: Expansion of to include more seating, a new façade reminiscent of a 19th century London pub and a tented rooftop garden.
  • Tavern: New atrium installed in the Tavern Garden Room to give the feel of a European conservatory with more florals and a stunning 16-foot chandelier. New menu and expanded bourbon and wine program added.. Completed in February, 2013.
  • PLAY at The BROADMOOR: Family restaurant and activity center with six lanes of bowling and game area opens in Broadmoor West, across from Charles Court. April 2013.
  • The RANCH at Emerald Valley: Wilderness retreat with 10 cabins located 8 miles from the resort in Pike National Forest. Opening August, 2013.
  • CLOUD CAMP: Beginning construction of atop Cheyenne Mountain above the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo and Shrine of the Sun. Opening Summer, 2014.


  • Charles Court becomes an Adam D. Tihany designed Italian restaurant called Ristorante del Lago with the West Lobby Bar incorporated into the facility as Bar del Lago.
  • Café Julie becomes Natural Epicurean, a full service restaurant specializing in locally sourced, organic, natural and wholesome food.
  • The Original West building is re-imagined and expanded to include all rooms, lobby and exterior. The design more closely matches Broadmoor Main with balconies and Juliet balconies a major focal point.
  • Broadmoor Collections boutique becomes The Great Republic.
  • Spirit of the West boutique becomes Base Camp, location for guest check in to all Broadmoor Wilderness Experience lodging and adventures. The shop also houses Peak Fly-Fishing and a line of outdoor clothing.
  • Villiers Jewelry becomes The Broadmoor Jewelry Company
  • The Library book store becomes The Accidental Tourist Travel & Book Shop
  • The Broadmoor Fly-Fishing School opens on a lake situated between the East and West golf courses. The Adirondack style building includes a large fireplace, meeting area and fishing equipment. In winter, the school will transform into outdoor ice skating.
  • Cloud Camp opens.
  • The Broadmoor regains naming rights to the Colorado Springs World Arena, returning the name to Broadmoor World Arena.
  • The Broadmoor signs a three-year naming rights agreement with Pikes Peak Hill Climb and Pikes Peak Cycling Hill Climb changing them to The Broadmoor Pikes Peak Hill Climb and The Broadmoor Pikes Peak Cycling Hill Climb.
  • The Broadmoor purchases SevenFalls attraction to be run by the Cog Railway with increased enhancements and a scheduled reopening in summer 2015.


  • The Broadmoor Fishing Camp Opening Summer 2015: A private fly-fishing camp with a beautifully restored lodge and seven miners' cabins that date back to the 1880's. Located on the Tarryall River, with more than five miles of private waters, this is an exclusive fly fishing experience complete with dining, accommodations and some of the best angling in Colorado.
  • Cloud Camp adds a 1300 square foot meeting space called The Overlook at Cloud Camp.
  • The Broadmoor purchases a 12,000 sq ft house across from Broadmoor Cottages. Called The Estate House, features five bedrooms, expansive areas for entertaining, including a grand parlor, opulent dining room and gourmet kitchen, spacious back lawn and croquet lawn and is surrounded by meticulously landscaped gardens. The Estate House was designed as one exclusive retreat for executive meetings, intimate weddings, family reunions and hosted events. (Open: September, 2016)


  • The Broadmoor introduces a new attraction above Seven Falls – The Broadmoor Soaring Adventure – consisting of two zip line courses with lines that that range in length from 240 to 1,800 feet, as well as two 200-foot suspension bridges and a controlled 180-foot rappel at the end that lowers into the Seven Falls canyon.
  • The Anschutz Family purchases sole ownership of Sea Island Resort in Georgia and forms The Broadmoor – Sea Island Company, bringing together two iconic, historic and independent multiple Forbes Five-Star resorts.
  • Two scenic hot tubs overlooking Pikes Peak are added to The Broadmoor Wilderness Experience property of Cloud Camp.
  • The Cog celebrates its 125th anniversary.
  • Work begins on a new Broadmoor history book to be published in time for the Centennial in 2018.


  • Broadmoor Outfitters add Wild West Experience and falconry to their activities for guests.
  • A new set of cookbooks called “Traditions” that features history and recipes from both The Broadmoor and Sea Island
  • In preparation for the Centennial, The Broadmoor begins a major refresh of the original Broadmoor Main building that includes guest rooms and suites.
  • A refresh also begins for The Broadmoor Golf Club that includes the lobby entrance, the golf shop and a new restaurant.


  • The year-long Centennial celebrations begin with activities and events planned for a theme every month. January includes a The Legacy of Ice, a salute to the original Broadmoor Ice Palace (1938 – 1994) and Broadmoor Skating Club, Broadmoor Curling, Broadmoor Speed Skating and Colorado College Hockey.
  • “The Broadmoor Story” history book goes on sale in resort shops and on line in the E-Store.
  • The Broadmoor Golf Club opens with a Golf Heritage History Hallway that highlights 100 years of golf, from the very beginning to today.
  • A new restaurant called The Grille is opened in the golf club building for resort guests and golf club members. The menu features many classics from The Broadmoor, including Chateaubriand tableside, and other favorites that honor The Broadmoor’s culinary traditions.
  • May sees the opening of The Broadmoor Main refresh. Historic elements were carefully preserved as walls were removed and new seating areas and a fireplace added to give a more welcoming and spacious feel. The shops that were formerly Espresso’s and Cheyenne Gourmet gave way to a newly expanded place called Café Julie’s, with a look and feel of a great patisserie in Paris. Included in the café is also a chocolate shop where guests watch as confections are made on site.
  • June 1 – 3, The Broadmoor celebrates its Centennial with a weekend of parties that includes a Prohibition theme and a gala dinner dance.
  • June 27 – July 1, The Broadmoor hosts the 2018 U.S. Senior Open. This is The Broadmoor’s eighth major USGA tournament and the 23rd championship since the course originally opened on July 4, 1918 with a benefit for the American Red Cross.

The Broadmoor, a charter member of Historic Hotels of America since 1989, dates back to1918.


Guest Historian Series

Stanley TurkelRead more about the history of The Broadmoor, as told by Historic Hotels of America 2014 and 2015 Historian of the Year Stanley Turkel. Excerpt is taken from his latest book Built to Last: 100+ Year-Old Hotels East of the Mississippi (AuthorHouse 2013).

Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee

It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.