The Capitol Kempinski Hotel Singapore

View our
special offers

The Capitol Kempinski Hotel Singapore is actually comprised of two historic landmarks known as the Stamford House and the Capitol Building. The more senior of the two—the Stamford House—originally debuted in 1904. British architect R.A.J. Bidwell of Swan & Maclaren designed the building on behalf of the Whiteaway Laidlaw & Company. Owned by Seth Paul, the Whiteaway Laidlaw & Company would operate at the location for the next six years. What followed afterward was a prolonged period of fluid occupancy, during which Paul rented out portions of the structure to multiple businesses. The famous Sarkies brothers were among the tenants, who used the top two floors as a hotel annex in the early 1910s. But then Seth Paul’s daughter, Klara Van Hein, decided to transform the entire structure into a boutique hotel called the “Oranje Hotel” during the mid-1930s. It remained active through World War II, even after the Japanese started occupying Singapore in 1942.

Today, the Capitol Kempinski Hotel Singapore boasts 157 well-appointed guestrooms and suites, all thoughtfully designed with custom furnishings which work cohesively with preserved structural elements. Guests can dine at any of the hotel's restaurants, and sample the hotel's signature dish- the Singapore Laksa- at 15 Stamford. Fitness enthusiasts can maintain their workout routine at the state-of-the-art fitness center or lounge by the outdoor saltwater relaxation pool.

Location Map

Discover

Discover the Neoclassical architecture of The Capitol Kempinski Hotel Singapore.

Explore

Explore Fort Canning Park.

Experience

Experience the Asian Civilisations Museum.

Taste

Taste some laksa when out exploring Singapore.

View Our Media Gallery

Sign up for our Newsletter

Partners

  • HHA Logo
  • NTHP Logo
  • STE Logo