Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

The Porches Inn


    The Porches Inn
 in North Adams
    The Porches Inn
 in North Adams

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
903 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • A work of architectural art

    by MTKPC91 on 2019-11-10 10:25 am

    Stayed here with my daughter and husband for my birthday weekend trip to MassMOCA. Yes, the location is spectacular as is the drive to get there from Boston. But what made it really worth it versus other inns in the area was the inventiveness of the architecture and styling of the buildings. We expected an Inn vibe, and it did not disappoint. It was just so much fun to be in the rooms and walk around the houses that had been converted into to one larger, porched building.

    We had a king suite, with a large comfy main bed and sofa bed. There was a desk set in the front angled window area. The furnishings were antiques and eclectic, often arts and crafts style and leather. It was like a really nice get away cabin design. If you are in North Adams for art appreciation, staying here is part of the package.

    Pluses
    -Bath salts for the whirlpool tub
    - Room service breakfast - instead of having to come to the community dining room
    in wall safe- behind a paint by the numbers classical painting
    - Gluten free and non-dairy options at breakfast
    -Family room with games
    - Local art on the walls
    - Chairs on the porches - a perfect place for morning tea.
    - Real keys.
    - Turndown service included setting up the pullout bed

    Minuses
    - A bit nickel and dimey My daughter came to stay from college for one of our three nights. I informed the desk of this when we made the reservation so that we could have linens for the pullout bed and extra towels (which were there when we checked in). The room says it sleeps 4, but we were charged extra for my daughter to cover breakfast for the one day. Also, we need to keep some medication cold so we requested a fridge for our room. It was there when we arrived, which was great. But they charged extra a day for that as well.
    -Difficulty getting Tea/coffee service. This is one area where usually inns excel where they fell short - Tea and cookies in the lobby. They did have a hot beverage set up in the reception area in the afternoons but not much variety. One day it was hot cider, another it was coffee. To get tea or cocoa, they had to get you the water. They were very nice about it, but these days, its rare to not have a coffee service in the room. They had a very nice set up for breakfast- it seems to me they could just leave that available all day and evening.
    -No slippers. With hard wood floors and wonderful robes go slippers. There were none. A nitpick but noticeable.
    -Old house stuff - you could hear people in the room above walking around. Our floor was not level, by any means. The room tended to run hot. I expect this from an older inn and was to be expected. But I can see that some people might find it less than pleasing.
    -Only big thing - the room smelled musty everytime we came back and the heat had run. We ended up running the air conditioning or opening a window for a while to freshen it up. My husband has a severe mold allergy so this was a bit of a concern. However, he was fine and there was no visible mold.

    Owner Response
    Dear MTKPC91,

    Thank you so much for sharing your insights with our Trip Advisor Community. The investment of your time to write such a thoughtful and detailed snapshot of our Inn is greatly appreciated.


    "A Work of Architectural Art"... Thank you so much for noticing! Our owner's unique sense of style is reflected in the design and ornamentation of the Inn, and is inspired by generations of mill worker families who once called our buildings home. Speaking of architecture, did you have an opportunity to see our brand new addition to our campus, the Studio at Porches? Although it is very modern in comparison to the vibe of the Inn itself, the structure presents a new architectural vernacular, as well as expanded resources for our guests and community.

    We would welcome your return, and encourage you to book directly with us to ensure your room placement is 100% satisfactory. Perhaps our King Room with a Porch would best suit you as it is off the street and on the 2nd floor featuring a private porch, a clawfoot tub and a walk-in rain shower.

    Kind Regards,

    Jill D

    JDSalesMgr, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review

  • Love The Porches!!!

    by S1294QCrick on 2019-11-09 04:29 am

    Excellent, beautiful, clean and friendly - perfect location. As an artist, with my collie, there for business and pleasure, we couldn't have found a better place to stay in North Adams and the Berkshires. We'll be back soon!

    Owner Response
    Dear S1294QCrick,

    We are thrilled that you and your four legged companion had such a pleasurable experience during your stay at our gracious Inn. Thank you for your considerate review. We look forward to your return and wish you the best for the upcoming holiday season and New Year.

    Your collie is gorgeous, by the way!

    Most Kindly,

    Jill D

    JillD4porches, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review

  • The Porches, a special place to stay

    by OnAir615587 on 2019-11-08 03:01 am

    If you go to North Adams to visit Mass Moca and then the Clark in Williams Mass the Porches makes the visit even more special. The Inn introduces you to the history of the area. It's a perfect romantic place to stay for couples.

    Owner Response
    Dear OnAir615587,

    Thank you for choosing the Porches Inn at MASS MoCA. We hope to see you again soon!

    Warm regards,

    Kim

    Kim_Asst_Innkeeper, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review

  • disappointed senior

    by WernerB132 on 2019-11-03 04:21 am

    second floor for 72 year old really tough and was not given first floor at check . we were offered help with luggage at check in. but stair steep for a senior with health issues even without luggage and going up and down to our room was a difficult and took several stops to get up due to shortness of breath

    Owner Response
    Dear WernerB132,


    Thank you for the candid feedback concerning your recent visit to the Porches Inn at MASS MoCA. We're very sorry to hear that you experienced some challenges with our stairs during your stay; had we been aware of your concerns prior to your departure, we certainly would have rectified this immediately for you. Unfortunately, you booked through a third party and we did not receive any request for special services, such as a first floor room placement.

    Our Team encourages all of our guests to book directly with us instead of through a third-party website, and by phone rather than on-line. This gives you the opportunity to make your preferences known in advance, and for us to ask specific questions so together, we can we can define what room type and what location is most suitable for you.

    It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to earn your vote of confidence once again. Please feel free to reach out to me directly in the future and I will be sure to explore and confirm the best options with you.

    Most sincerely,

    Jill D.

    JDSalesMgr, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review

  • Great property - didn't find much to do besides the museum

    by wendywoman2 on 2019-11-01 08:25 am

    We really liked the accommodations and setup of the rooms. The hotel seemed relatively quiet even though they said they were well booked. We were pleasantly surprised that there were so many amenities and common areas for sitting and talking outside of the room. We weren't able to take advantage of the on-site bar or pool/hot tub but it was delightful that those options were there. We only stayed one night so there wasn't a lot of time to explore the inn.
    We were hoping that North Adams had more to offer than the museum, but we weren't that impressed. That doesn't reflect on the inn, just our hopes for the locale.
    The continental breakfast was good and nice that it was included with the room. Baked goods were on a first-come first-served basis so late risers are unlikely to get muffins and might not get a bagel. I left them feedback that they might consider allowing guests to reserve a baked good the night before but that's about the only thing that felt limiting. Everything else was expansive and warm at the inn.
    I ended up leaving my pullover and windbreaker jackets in the closet and didn't realize until later on during the day after we left. We called the hotel and they immediately sent someone to look in our room and called us within 30 minutes to let them know they had our items. They would ship them the next day (mail had left already for that day) and charge the cost to our credit card on file. My cardboard box of nicely folded jackets arrived on the expected date. I appreciated the immediate and kind attention to returning my items.
    Our room was not a romantic setting but it had a lot of style and was extremely clean.

    Owner Response
    Hello, wendywoman2!

    Art is certainly the main attraction for visitors to North Adams. Directly across the street from us, MASS MoCA is the largest museum of contemporary art in the country, impossible to absorb in a single day--fortunately tickets are good for two consecutive days. The Clark in neighboring Williamstown is popular for its Impressionist collection, and rightly so. Also worthy of attention are the many displays of outdoor art in our little city, from the interactive bus stand on Main St., to the Egyptian mural on Center St., to the colorful grackle-themed tiles on the garage right here at the hotel.

    But the area has a lot to offer besides the visual arts. It's a playground for lovers of the great outdoors, no matter the season. There's an abundance of live music, theater, dance, and literary history--Herman Melville, Sinclair Lewis, and Edith Wharton, among others, lived and wrote in the Berkshires.

    Of course, some of our guests just want to relax, basking in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, open 24/7/365 (next time you must take advantage of them!), or sitting with a good book in a leather armchair by the fireplace in our lobby.

    We're delighted that you enjoyed your room and our continental breakfast! Thank you for choosing the Porches Inn!

    Kind regards,

    Kim

    PS) If a romantic room is what you want, ask for a deluxe king with a porch! It's spacious, with two upholstered armchairs and an ottoman, a clawfoot tub and a walk-in shower with tropical rain head.

    Kim_Asst_Innkeeper, Manager at The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA, responded to this review


Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee


It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.