Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Downtown

    Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Downtown
 in Portland
    Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Downtown
 in Portland


TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:
2730 Reviews
Latest TripAdvisor Reviews

  • Embassy Suites By Hilton

    by Kathryn M on 2019-08-17 06:16 pm

    This is a beautiful hotel. Our room was comfortable and quiet. The staff was responsive and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located for walking to downtown attractions, although the neighborhood is a bit edgy. We appreciated the daily breakfast and that parking was included in our stay.

  • Hotel Review

    by mikebD9339VZ on 2019-08-17 11:46 am

    This is a very old hotel, but they have maintained it very well, nice amenities. Breakfast buffet was very well laid out and a very good selection of items, as well as a made to order omelette station. The snacks for the evening get together were somewhat lacking. Decent selection of beverages to choose from for it. Staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Uneven experience

    by Myra J on 2019-08-16 11:50 am

    Our king room was very nice as was the king suite we reserved for other family members. We were there for 8 nights. The staff was cordial. I didn't understand why I was supposed to request a room cleaning time the night before and realized they didn't clean the room without it. This is unlike any hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. When I complained they did give me a credit on my bill, which I appreciated. The lobby would have been more attractive without the patterned rug. The play area in the lobby was great to have and our grandsons enjoyed running around. Not sure the other guests appreciated them! We gave up on the free breakfast after a few days and ate many meals at the adjoining restaurant. The breakfast room was in the second basement and unlike the photo shown on the website, it was dark (with a dark blue ceiling) and depressing with an unpleasant smell. The omelettes were good, but I got tired of eating them after a couple of days. The fruit seemed to run out well before the end of breakfast time. The pastries were average, the oatmeal watery and the coffee varied in quality and strength. I picked the hotel because it had suites and was near public transportation and Powell's Bookstore. I even looked at Google maps to see what the street view looked like. What I didn't realize was that although it is near Chinatown, Chinatown barely exists and is really run down. The walk along Burnside and surrounding streets is depressing with many homeless people walking the streets, lying asleep next to ande even on sidewalks and sometimes talking incoherently which would be very upsetting to at least one of my grandchildren. I only saw one or two policemen walking around the neighborhood in the 8 days we were there.I was told by the staff that the only playground nearby was inhabited by drug addicts. We ended up driving to the suburbs to use playgrounds there.

  • your money and don't stay here

    by Lori L on 2019-08-14 02:00 pm

    For the what the charge for a suite I expected so much more than what we got. The room looked great as long as you didn't touch anything. Beds were like sleeping on the ground, the tub was a slow drain so you felt like you had to wash your feet after you got done taking a shower, the walls are so thin you can hear everything going on around you. the carpet in the rooms felt dirty and why offer a mini fridge if it is barely cold. Oh and not to mention the elevators which are so tiny and ever so slow for being a hotel with only 7 floors it shouldn't take me 15-20 minutes to get to my room. We will never be back to this hotel.

    Owner Response
    Dear Lori L,
    We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the discomfort your experienced during your stay.
    Thank you for bringing the areas of concerns to our attention. We will use your comments to address th opportunity areas and share your comments with our management team.
    We hope to see you soon.

    EmbassySuites319, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review

  • Disappointing Embassy Suites Stay with Chaotic and Dirty Breakfast Room

    by Adrian L on 2019-08-13 011:08 pm

    Honestly I was very disappointed with my weekend stays. The hotel was part of a historic building, which means that there are many mismatches between hotels in an earlier era and in the modern era. The lobby smelled foul when we checked in on a friday afternoon, and one of the three elevators were not working during the stay, which resulted in long wait during peak hours. I also want to note that the carpet remained wet on corridor of my floor for unknown reason and worry that they have some water leakage problem or they can't handle the hot weather as they have turned up all the A/C. The breakfast room was dark but it was basically a nightmare to navigate. I gave up after one morning. One should not need to line up thirty minutes for an omelet and that poor lady cooked nonstop for hours. There should be at least one more cook. The floor was sticky because people spelled food and juices especially many families stayed here. The check-in experience was underwhelming, as the staff was clearly going through the motion, but I appreciate her honestly about not giving me an upgrade despite my diamond status (but as of this point, who remember that Diamond members are supposed to get free upgrades)!

    The only good thing was the larger room because of the classic design. They could not do much to reduce the size of the room. However the good thing stopped here. The a/c did not work well and was basically needing replacement. The worst part was the so-called premium WIFI. Just based on that slow WIFI, I will not return to this hotel anytime soon.

    In conclusion, I recommend you staying at other Hilton properties in Portland in the future. While the hotel seems to be going through renovation, they are not good enough to fit the demands of a modern traveler.

    Owner Response
    Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
    We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.
    Please be informed that we will follow up on the items you have mentioned in your review.
    Thank you for staying with us and thank you for being a loyal Hilton Honors member.
    If there is anything I personally can do to make things right, please do not hesitate to let me know.

    EmbassySuites319, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review

Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee

It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.