View our
special offers
Old Santa Fe Inn added to Historic Hotels of America
From The Santa Fe New Mexican

The Old Santa Fe Inn has been added to the Historic Hotels of America, the official program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

Only four Santa Fe hotels are part of the Historic Hotels of America. La Fonda on the Plaza was the first to join in 1991, two years after Historic Hotels of America was established with 35 charter members. Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza joined in 2014 and La Posada de Santa Fe in 2019.

“We initiated that,” said Rik Blyth, vice president and general manager of La Fonda, which acquired Old Santa Fe Inn in January. “We started that immediately. We had tremendous success at La Fonda with Historic Hotels.”

More than 300 hotels are now included. Travelers can book reservations for these hotels on the Historic Hotels of America website.

Historic Hotels of America dates the Old Santa Fe Inn back to 1930, though the Barker family that previously owned the hotel believes some sections are as old as the 1880s. Listing Old Santa Fe Inn on Historic Hotel will generate business, Blyth said.

“There are groups of people that travel from historic hotel to historic hotel,” he said.

To be selected for membership in Historic Hotels of America, a hotel must be at least 50 years old, be recognized as having historic significance and have been designated a National Historic Landmark or listed or eligible for the National Register of Historic Places.

Discover the fascinating history of Old Santa Fe Inn and book your stay!
Read the full article from The Santa Fe New Mexican.

About Historic Hotels of America®
Historic Hotels of America is the official program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation for recognizing and celebrating the finest Historic Hotels. Historic Hotels of America has more than 300 historic hotels. These historic hotels have all faithfully maintained their authenticity, sense of place, and architectural integrity in the United States of America, including 44 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico. Historic Hotels of America is comprised of mostly independently owned and operated historic hotels. More than 30 of the world’s finest hospitality brands, chains, and collections are represented in Historic Hotels of America. To be nominated and selected for membership into this prestigious program, a hotel must be at least 50 years old; has been designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Interior as a National Historic Landmark or listed in or eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places; and recognized as having historic significance.