Check Availability
Modify/Cancel Reservations
More Search OptionsReturn to Check Availability Console

About Us
Subscribe to RSS Feed

Dan Schlossberg Named the Recipient of the first HHA Journalist of the Year Award

WASHINGTON, DC— May 6 - Dan Schlossberg has been named the recipient of the first Historic Hotels of America Journalist of the Year Award. Schlossberg was honored with this distinguished award on May 6, 2015 at the Historic Hotels of America and Historic Hotels Worldwide International Showcase.  This special reception for invited clients and media was held at the legendary and internationally-renown Waldorf Astoria (1931) on Park Avenue in New York City.

The Historic Hotels of America Journalist of the Year Award honors a journalist who inspires a greater understanding and appreciation for historic preservation, culture, and heritage and has increased the recognition and celebration of Historic Hotels of America. This award is presented to an individual who has advanced the message of Historic Hotels of America while motivating the audience to discover and experience America’s great stories and unique heritage through its historic hotels.

The first recipient of this award is Dan Schlossberg.  He is the co-founder, president emeritus, and awards chairman of the North American Travel Journalists Association (NATJA) and past president of the Garden State Journalists Association (GSJA). The lifelong New Jersey resident is travel editor of Sirius XM Radio's Maggie Linton Show and New Jersey Lifestyle Magazine. He writes and speaks often about historic hotels.  He is also the host and executive producer of Travel Itch Radio, a Thursday night podcast now in its third year, which frequently features owners and general mangers from Historic Hotels of America.  He is the author of 36 books about baseball and is working on two more. Schlossberg is passionate about historic hotels.

He has stayed at numerous historic hotels across America throughout his life, has published subsequent articles, given many radio broadcasts, and continues to inspire others to experience the hotels where American history was written and where history continues to be made. 

“We are pleased to name Dan Schlossberg as the recipient of the first Historic Hotels of America Journalist of the Year Award,” said Lawrence Horwitz, Executive Director of Historic Hotels of America and Historic Hotels Worldwide. Dan has combined print, digital, and broadcast journalism to make historic hotels sound fun and exhilarating.   He stimulates travelers’ interest in the great stories, noted architecture, and culinary experiences discovered by experiencing first hand Historic Hotels of America.”

Dan Schlossberg, upon being notified that he was selected as the first recipient of the Historic Hotels of America Journalist of the Year Award, said, “As a huge fan of Historic Hotels of America, I am truly honored to accept this award. The fact that it is the first one makes it even more special."

Nominations for the 2015 Historic Hotels of America Annual Awards are open until July 31, 2015. Nominee submissions can be made at Categories include: Best Historic Hotel (ranging in size), Best Historic Resort, Legendary Family Historic Hoteliers of the Year, Best Historic Restaurant in Conjunction with a Historic Hotel, New Member of the Year, and many others. Nominations from fellow hoteliers, media, guests, and industry leaders are encouraged. Eligible nominees include members of Historic Hotels of America, including past award recipients. Nominations from travel writers, historians, travel editors, guests, history students, teachers, and historic preservationists are encouraged.

Tickets for the Historic Hotels of America 2015 Awards ceremony and gala dinner are available. The gala dinner will take place at the historic West Baden Springs Hotel (1902) at French Lick Resort in West Baden Springs, Indiana on Thursday, October 8, 2015 at 7 PM. Tickets for the awards ceremony and dinner are $160 for one seat and $1,250 per table (for 8 seats). Contact Historic Hotels of America +202 772 8000 or to reserve tickets.

About Historic Hotels of America™
Historic Hotels of America is the official program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation® for recognizing and celebrating the finest Historic Hotels. Historic Hotels of America was founded in 1989 by the National Trust for Historic Preservationwith 32 charter members. Today, Historic Hotels of America has more than 260 historic hotels. These historic hotels have all faithfully maintained their authenticity, sense of place, and architectural integrity in the United States of America, including 44 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico. Historic Hotels of America is comprised of mostly independently owned and operated properties.  More than 30 of the world’s finest hospitality brands, chains, and collections are represented in Historic Hotels of America. To be nominated and selected for membership into this prestigious program, a hotel must be at least 50 years old; has been designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Interior as a National Historic Landmark or listed in or eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places; and recognized as having historic significance. For more information, please visit

To receive the free Discover & Explore e-newsletter each month with advance notice about Insiders Savings, special discounts, epic package, and up and coming events in historic hotels in 30 countries, plus free or reduced rate admission to historic and cultural sites, click here.

Click here to see the About Historic Hotels of America video. To view the Historic Hotels of America 2015 Annual Directory ebook or download the free app on iTunes, Amazon, Google play, and the Windows Store.

MEDIA CONTACT:  Heather Taylor 
                              Historic Hotels of America and Historic Hotels Worldwide
                              Manager, Marketing Communications
                              Tel: +1 202 772 8333 Fax: +1 202 772 8338 


Back to Listing

Book by Phone: +1 800 678 8946 Best Rate Guarantee

It appears you are using an older web browser! While using our site, you may encounter some trouble along the way. For PC users, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, or Firefox. For Mac users, we recommend the latest version of Safari, Firefox, or Google Chrome.

Loading ....