View our
special offers

Discover the Hotel Lombardy, an elegant hotel in Washington DC overlooking historic Pennsylvania Avenue.

Hotel Lombardy was constructed amid the great economic calamity that affected most of the world during the 1930s.

Like many of the buildings around historic Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy’s first incarnation was as an ornate private residence, first built in 1929. As the city evolved around it—the Great Depression, World War II, the Vietnam War—the historic site bore witness to the sometimes tumultuous and always eventful world of Washington, D.C. In 1994 Hotel Lombardy was converted into a European-style hotel. The Oriental rugs and original local art in the guest rooms evoke the hotel's origins while other details position Hotel Lombardy firmly in the 21st century.

  • About the Architecture +
    Hotel Lombardy’s first incarnation was as a private residence converted to a classic European-style hotel in 1994, beautifully preserving the red-brick and limestone facade. The hotel overlooks historic Pennsylvania Avenue and is decorated with ornate Oriental woolen rugs and original local art.

Sign up for our Newsletter


  • HHW Logo
  • NTHP Logo
  • AA Logo
  • WHHA Logo
  • STE Logo