Raffles Europejski Warsaw

View our
special offers

Discover Raffles Europejski Warsaw, which was originally designed by the renowned Italian-Polish architect, Enrico Marconi.

Raffles Europejski Warsaw was constructed during the historic reign of the United Kingdom’s famed Queen Victoria, who sat on the British throne from 1837 to 1901.

Raffles Europejski Warsaw dates back to 1857, when it was opened to the public as a luxurious hotel and social center of Warsaw. Italian-Polish architect Enrico Marconi designed the original Hotel Europejski to be the most extravagant hotel in the Russian Empire. As it gained reputation, the hotel’s glamorous parties were immortalized in the Polish 19th century classic, The Doll, by Bolesław Prus. Artists Józef Chełmoƒski and Stanisław Witkiewicz had studios in the hotel, and the patisserie was a well-known gathering spot for many writers and intellectuals. In 1907, the hotel was expanded and underwent a renovation to celebrate its 50th anniversary, after which it experienced a period of great success. It was even recognized as the only hotel in Poland with a luxury status from 1924-1939.

After the World War II, the hotel was converted to a military school known as the Military Political Academy (Akademia Wojskowa Polityczna). Its redesign was spearheaded by architect Bohdan Pniewski. The remaining balustrade was added to the top floor of the hotel and the historic sections of the exterior were renovated. After the military academy's closure in 1954, the building was used as offices for the Polish Ministry of Transport. Two years later, it was used to house Jewish immigrants from the Soviet Union. The building was then transferred to Orbis, the state tourist company, which converted it back into a hotel. Bohdan Pniewski returned as lead architect and was assisted by Bohdan Kijowicz. Upon its completion, the hotel had 260 rooms, 13 suites, and was called the Orbis Hotel Europejski. It was reopened for business on July 2, 1962.

In 1993, the heirs of the original owners filed to reclaim the hotel. The case lasted for 12 years, though the heirs eventually won the lawsuit. The Orbis-owned hotel was closed in 2005. Refurbishment of the structure began in 2013, when it fell under the ownership of Raffles Hotels & Resorts. Elements of the renovation were created by WWAA Architecture, with much of the interior design completed by Boris Kudlicka. Many of the hotel’s original structures were saved, including its original cornicing and ceiling roses. It reopened as the Raffles Europejski Warsaw in 2018 and continues to honor the Warsaw’s rich cultural heritage.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Partners

  • HHA Logo
  • NTHP Logo
  • STE Logo