Antrim 1844

View our
special offers

Discover Antrim 1844, which was a quintessential Greek Revival Mansion named after the McKaleb’s ancestral home in County Antrim, Ireland.

Listed on the U.S. National Register of Historic Places, Antrim 1844 has been a member of Historic Hotels of America since 2007. This magnificent historic landmark has stood proudly in the heart of Taneytown, Maryland, for the better part of three centuries. But despite its current status as one of the best holiday destinations in the Old Line State, Antrim 1844 was originally built by Col. Andrew Ege as a country manor on land inherited by his wife, Margaret, from her father, Major John McKaleb. This magnificent estate was named in honor of the McKaleb family’s ancestral home in County Antrim, Ireland. Truly an American treasure, Antrim 1844 exemplified a quintessential Greek Revival Mansion with historic influences.

George Washington Clabaugh subsequently bought Antrim 1844 in 1873. His son, Harry Morris Clabaugh, served as both the Attorney General of Maryland and the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court following his appointment to the office by President Theodore Roosevelt in 1903. In 1987, Dorothy and Richard Mollett saw Antrim for the first time and instantly fell in love with the house and its rich history. After purchasing the location, Dort and Richard's mission was to restore it back to its original splendor. In October of 1988, Antrim 1844's mansion opened its first and second floors as a bed and breakfast with four handsome guestrooms. It immediately became popular among travelers across the Mid-Atlantic due to its peaceful tranquility.

Over the last 30 years, Dort and Richard have restored, expanded, constructed, and reconstructed many different aspects of the building. With the purchase of five additional houses on the adjoining Mill Avenue, Antrim 1844 currently enjoys the distinguished honor of serving as a luxurious, 40-room boutique hotel with an award-winning fine dining restaurant and expansive wine cellar. And thanks in large part to the Molletts, most of the hotel's original outbuildings survive to this very day, too. Among those brilliant structures on-site include the likes of the Carriage House, the Ice House, the Post House, the Summer Kitchen, the Brick Kitchen, the Overseer's Wing, the Barn, the Spring House, and even the brick double-sided Outhouse.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Partners

  • HHW Logo
  • NTHP Logo
  • AA Logo
  • WHHA Logo
  • STE Logo